Election Commission announces dates for 3 states legislative council by-polls


The Election Commission of India on Wednesday announced the dates for by-polls to three seats of the legislative councils in Andhra Pradesh and Bihar. The election body also issued notification for biennial polls for 12 seats of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

These elections will be held on January 28 held between 9am to 4pm and the counting of votes will take place on the same day at 5pm, according to the election commission. The last date for filing nominations for the polls is January 18, it added.

The by-polls for the Bihar Legislative Council are being held for the posts vacated by Vinod Narain Jha and former deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi. Jha was elected to the Bihar Legislative Assembly in November and Modi had resigned from his position after being elected to the Rajya Sabha last year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *